Hospice Volunteers

Many people come to hospice volunteering after experiencing hospice with family or friends. Others are drawn to it to learn more about the process of death or they see the need to improve how we die and want to be part of the solution.  Fortunately, there are many and varied opportunities to volunteer in end-of-life care in our community because volunteers are a key part of the multi disciplinary team that supports both the patient and family.

Volunteer roles include making phone calls, home visits set on your schedule, set hours in an office or hospice house, and many more.  Both direct patient interaction or behind the scenes work is available.   Training is an ongoing part of hospice volunteering that instills confidence and opens doors to many new experiences.

Here is a list of local Hospices who are actively seeking volunteers and their contacts:

Hospice Contact Email
BJC Hospice & Evelyn’s House Mary Lindsley mary.lindsley@bjc.org
Heartland Hospice Virginia Kresko Virginia.kresko@heartlandhospice.com
Lutheran Senior Services Hospice Care Gayla Maze Gayla.Maze@LSSLiving.org
Mercy Hospice Paula Minogue paula.minogue@mercy.net
Pathways Hospice & Palliative Care Denise Coder dcoder@pathwayshospice.com
Preferred Hospice Northeast Missouri Tracy Sweazey tsweazey.stl@preferredhospice.com
Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care Yolanda Riley YRiley@seasons.org
St. Anthony’s Hospice & de Greeff Hospice House Cathy Sandy cathy.sandy@samcstl.org
Unity Hospice of Greater St Louis Darcie Carr dcarr@unityhospice.com
Visiting Nurse Association of Greater St Louis Sue Risch srisch@vnastl.org
VITAS Hospice St Louis Emily Jokerst Emily.Jokerst@vitas.com