The Midwest End-of-Life Doula Collective is comprised of professionally trained end-of-life doulas, and doulas in training from St. Louis and its surrounding area who serve the dying and their families. We educate the public, health care providers, and individuals regarding end-of-life care and the role of the end-of-life doula. We expand our knowledge, collaborate, and provide a community of support for one another. The Midwest End-of-Life Doula Collective welcomes all who care about end of life and seek to empower those who are dying and their loved ones.

Mission

The mission of the Midwest End-of-Life Doula Collective is to transform the end-of-life experience through awareness, collaboration, and advocacy.

End-of-Life Doulas are:   

  • Non-medical
  • Family-centered
  • Advocates for the dying
  • Emotionally supportive
  • Pragmatic and well-resourced
  • Holistic
  • Non-judgmental
  • There to honor and support patient and family decisions & decision-making
  • A complement to hospice care

End-of-Life Doulas may offer the following:  

  • Help with end-of-life planning, which may include green burial or home funeral
  • Support from initial diagnosis through bereavement
  • Sitting vigil with the dying and their loved ones
  • Assistance with advance care planning
  • Education, information and resources
  • Addressing concerns of both client and family (i.e.: fear, dread, death process)
  • Building a network of support
  • Provide comfort before and after death
  • Assistance with life review
  • Respite or overnight care
  • Household Support
  • Personal care

Each end-of-life doula’s practice will differ based on their areas of expertise.

 

Choosing an End-of-Life Doula

Questions to consider:

  • Does the doula have the availability to offer what is needed?
  • Will the needs of your loved one and family be met by the services offered?

Additional factors that may influence your choice:

  • Gut feeling
  • Training & background

What does an End-of-Life Doula Cost?

  • Prices vary depending on services and needs – inquire with the individual doula
  • If you are an organization interested in a set number of hours per week, please contact doulas individually  

Further Information and Resources:

 

Doulas in Practice: Email Website
Joan Bretthauer   gatewayalliance@swbell.net www.aceendoflifedoula.com
Tess Clarkson  tessclarkson@hotmail.com  
Dr. Maurya D. Cockrell  leavesspeak@consultyknot.com www.leavesspeak.com
Joy DuVall   joy@joy4seniors.com www.joy4seniors.com 
Mike Elliff Bdywrkr8@gmail.com  
Jan Goldman  mornin1083@aol.com  
Lauren Ponder laurenponder@withlove.events http://withlove.events/
Delaney Rhea delaneyrhea@yahoo.com https://thesacredsunset.com/contact
Joanie Terrizzi    joanie19@gmail.com www.nurtureandthrive.org
Gale Thackrey galethackrey@gmail.com  
Natalie Turner-Jones  nat.turnerjones@gmail.com www.companioningthedying.com   
Cindy Yamnitz    cyamnitz@gmail.com  
     
     
Doulas in Training:    
Mary Basler mkbasler2@gmail.com  
Alisha Daniels  alishadaniels989@gmail.com  
Rita Oldani   sacredspaces26@sbcglobal.net  
Christine Shoemake cgraceparker@gmail.com